Art Therapy

lost sheep

I originally made this as a PSA against spiritual abuse, a topic that will get its own article very soon. As a short summary, as I wrote then, “Sometimes, to damage someone in the deepest way they can think of, there are those out there who would bully someone not for their faith, but with their faith. This is called ‘spiritual/religious abuse’.”

lost lamb
illustrated in photoshop

Most of the spiritual abuse I suffered came from my main abusers in the form of emotional/verbal abuse, though I included similarly harmful words from others in the shadows. I never met the altar boy in the drawing, though while he hints to one friend in particular, he represents the people in the Church whose patient compassion and friendship for me expressed what little I know of God’s true nature: Love.

Leave a Reply

